No. 97 Bayani Dia got around Keith Williamson during the last race of the NASA Southeast season to take the points championship, with Keith Williamson in second and James Harrell in third.

Eighteen Spec Miatas made the trip to Road Atlanta for the last points race of the 2017 NASA Southeast season. Saturday’s race decided the Southeast Division Championship. Yan Dia and Keith Williamson battled the entire season and with Saturday’s race remaining, Williamson had a slim 6-point lead. Qualifying ended with Steve Kaney grabbing pole position with a 1:47.157, Tyler Harrell in P2, Dylan Stancil P3, Keith Williamson P4 and Yan Dia P5.

After the green flag dropped, Williamson was able to get to Harrell’s bumper, giving him a good push to get around Kaney on the outside of T1 and then drop in between Kaney and Stancil leaving the order, Harrell P1, Kaney, Williamson, Stancil and Dia. Then on lap three, Williamson got inside of Kaney going through Turn 6, but tried to carry too much speed through Turn 7, got loose, going four-off, ending up against the tire wall on the outside of Turn 7. Not satisfied with coasting to the Championship, Dia continued to race Stancil hard and moved up to P3 to bring the final top five order in as follows: Tyler Harrell P1, Steve Kaney P2, Yan Dia P3, Dylan Stancil P4, and James Harrell P5.

Congratulation to Yan Dia, the Southeast Spec Miata champion, with Keith Williamson second and James Harrell third.


Join the Discussion