Entries to the NASA Championships presented by Toyo Tires are setting new records in a number of classes, and not just Spec Miata for the Toyo Tires Classic, which now has 91 cars entered.

In 944 Spec, entries have surged to 19 total cars for 2018. This year will be a showdown among three competitors, Dan Piña, Marcelo Vine and John Pentelei-Molnar, all of whom have won championships.

In American Iron, it’s going to be a shootout among 24 cars entered as of press time. AI will truly be a reflection of the talent in NASA nationwide as California standouts Ryan Walton and Corey Weber face off against NASA Florida’s Patrick Wehymeyer and Bruce Byerly. All four of those drivers will have to beat NASA Texas’ Michael Patterson, who has more laps at COTA than the others.

In Spec E30, it will be a record field of at least 45 cars. The field is packed with talent, including Sandro Espinosa, Tim Barber, and last year’s champion from Sebring, Carlos Mendez. Also look for California standouts Steve Stepania and Larry Fraser to be up toward the pointy end of the field.

In just its second year as a class, Super Touring 4 has attracted 25 cars to its ranks for COTA. Look for NASA Texas Regional Director Will Faules to be up front along with Joshua Allan and NASA NorCal’s John Borchelt, who took second at the 2017 Western States Championships.

To register for the NASA Championships, visit:


Join the Discussion